DAAD - Award

DAAD Prize

DAAD Prize

The DAAD Prize of 1000 € is intended to honor international students who, in addition to outstanding academic achievements, also stand out with special social commitment and thus make an important contribution to the university community or society.

Criteria: international students and international doctoral candidates can be nominated for the DAAD Prize:

  • if they are enrolled in a Bachelor's or Master's degree program at Hochschule Geisenheim University (no guest or exchange students) or are pursuing a doctorate, and have obtained their university entrance qualification abroad,
  • if they are in an advanced stage of their studies, i.e. at least in their 2nd year of study
  • if they demonstrate special academic achievement and outstanding social commitment

Evaluation criteria: in addition to special academic achievements, social commitment is also evaluated, which is preferably carried out in Geisenheim and the surrounding area alongside the current studies. Social commitment can include vorluntary or charity work (outside the university) and / or involvement in committees. Furthermore, additional challenges such as learning a language for the purpose of studying or the nominee's financial situation will also be considered in the evaluation.

Nomination: international students can be nominated for the DAAD Prize by all employees of Hochschule Geisenheim University. The Student Committee (AStA) may also suggest a suitable candidate (in coordination with the Vice-President of Academic & Student Affairs and the International Office). For this purpose, a letter of recommendation must be submitted to the International Office international@hs-gm.de, which provides information about the type and intensity of the social commitment (frequency, duration, payment yes / no).

The deadline for a nomination is June 15 of each year.

Selection: a jury decides on the ranking of the nominees for the DAAD Prize. The jury consists of one representative from the International Office, the AStA and the teaching department.

The jury has the task of prioritizing the proposed candidates based on evaluation criteria and their weighting. This prioritization serves as the basis for the final decision, which is made by the Committee for Studying and Teaching (Ausschuss für Studium und Lehre).


Sonja Thielemann
Dipl.-Ing. Agr. Sonja Thielemann
Building 5905
Room 02.02
Phone +49 6722 502 718
Sonja.Thielemann(at)hs-gm.de Details